CINECA (ITALY) – Consorzio Interuniversitario established in 1969, is a non-profit consortium of 69 Italian Universities, 11 Italian National Institutions, and the Ministry of Education, University and Research (MIUR). CINECA is the largest Italian supercomputing centre with an HPC/HPDA environment equipped with cutting-edge technology and highly-qualified personnel which cooperates with researchers in the use of the infrastructure, in both the academic and industrial fields. CINECA’s mission is to enable the Italian and European research community to accelerate scientific discovery using HPC/HPDA resources in a profitable way, exploiting the newest technological advances in computing, data management, storage systems, tools, services and expertise at large.

The SCAI Department in CINECA has a long experience in cooperating with the researchers in parallelising, enabling and scaling-up their applications in different computational disciplines, covering engineering, CFD, mathematics, condensed matter physics, astrophysics, geophysics, chemistry, earth sciences, life sciences and bioinformatics, but also “non-traditional” ones, such as biomedicine, archaeology and data-analytics.

CINECA has a wide experience in providing education and training in the different fields of parallel computing and computational sciences and is one of the six PRACE Advanced Training Centres (PATCs).

The CFD team has a strong background in marine engineering and along the years, with the support of the H2020 EU projects Fortissimo2, LINCOLN and eSHyIPS has developed an innovative virtual towing tank framework, LincoSim.

Key staff in charge of SEAS 4.0 are: Claudio Arlandini (Project Manager), Francesco Salvadore and Raffaele Ponzini (Senior CFD experts).

DTU (DENMARK) is associated partner of the SEAS 4.0 programme. The Technical University of Denmark is an independent university focusing on education, research, research-based advisory and innovation. The university’s main activities are anchored in 17 departments, 7 centres and a national laboratory for sustainable energy. The university has more than 11000 students enrolled in the several multifaceted BSc and MSc training programs, and each year welcomes more than 1000 international students. DTU is a founding member of the Nordic Five Tech Alliance and the Euro Tech Universities Alliance. DTU participates in SEAS 4.0 with the Department of Mechanical Engineering and the Department of Electrical Engineering where expertise on naval architecture, ship hydrodynamics, ship propulsion, ship operations, and marine automation is rooted.

Key scientists Ulrik D. Nielsen (associate professor and adjunct associate professor at NTNU-AMOS) and Roberto Galeazzi (associate professor and head of Centre for Collaborative Autonomous Systems) will actively participate in the SEAS 4.0 programme by delivering courses at UDC and hosting MSc students for thesis work.

Touro College Berlin (TCB) in Germany is a private Jewish-American university with the main mission to spread multicultural awareness and appreciation of diversity in its core curriculum as well as its principles of governance.
As an Associate Partner, TCB brings expertise on teaching and learning in multicultural environments, assessment of learning outcomes, and psychological well being of students as part of academic success.

TCB is a teaching-focused HEI, but key staff are involved in international research projects on various topics relevant to emerging adults. TCB offers undergraduate programs in Management and Psychology, a Master’s program in Holocaust Communication and Tolerance, and an MBA program. TCB is an immensely diverse institution with students and staff representing more than 30 different countries.

Key staff for SEAS 4.0 is Prof. Larisa Buhin-Krenek, Dean of Undergraduate Programs and a counseling psychologist specializing in Multicultural Counseling and Consultation. Prof. Buhin-Krenek researches identity development, resilience, student coping, and culturally inclusive higher education from a cross-cultural perspective.


The University of Antwerp has a long-standing tradition in transportation research, performed by the institutions who merged into University of Antwerp in 2003. Academic teaching at the University of Antwerp is closely linked to original scientific research carried out by the University’s academic staff.
The university of Antwerp has 9 faculties. At the Department of Transport and Regional Economics (which is part of the Faculty of business economics), project research plays a key role in gaining scientific knowledge.
The Department aims at a wide array of research projects, incorporating longer term fundamental research projects (FP7 & H2020), as well as contracts with diverse promoters and limited assignments intended for immediate application. Business knowledge also involves to a large extent policy advice, consulting and individual research of the Department members. This way, in the past years, a lot of research was performed for companies, and high-standing research was done into the evaluation of transport investments, mobility policy, tourism, the maritime and port sector, and spatial aspects and city policy. Key staff in participating in the SEAS 4.0 at UA is Dr. Ir. Edwin van Hassel.